# REGIONAL UTILITY SERVICE SYSTEMS (RUSS) BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING – 900 W. WASHINGTON ST., MT. PLEASANT WEDNESDAY – March 18, 2015 – 1:00 P.M. MINUTES

### **CALL TO ORDER**

The regular monthly meeting of the Regional Utility Service Systems Board of Directors was called to order on March 18, 2015 at 1:00 p.m. by Chairperson Daryl Wood.

# **RUSS MEMBERS PRESENT**

Daryl Wood-Keokuk Co, Greg Moeller -Henry Co, Bob Waugh- Van Buren Co, Lee Dimmitt- Jefferson Co, Ron Fedler- Lee Co, Chris Ball- Louisa Co.

RUSS staff: Exec. Dir.-Bruce Hudson, Krista Edmunds-Finance Manager

# **RUSS MEMBERS ABSENT**

Jim Cary- Des Moines Co.

# **OTHERS PRESENT**

Karyan Spray-Mt. Pleasant News, Kent Rice-French Reneker

### APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion made by Bob Waugh, Seconded by Greg Moeller to approve the agenda 6 Ayes Motioned approved #M60-15

### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

**Motion made** by Bob Waugh, **Seconded by,** Chris Ball to approve minutes for the Feb 11, 2015 4-Ayes and 2 abstained due to being absent. Lee Dimmit-Jefferson Co, Ron Fedler- Lee Co. Motion carried by all. #M61-15

### APPROVAL OF TREASUR'S REPORT

Treasurer's Report, Bank Reconciliation, Delinquent Cust. Report & Bills received. Motioned by Lee Dimmitt, Seconded by Greg Moeller, 6 Ayes and 1 absent Motioned Carried by all #M62-15

March 15, 2015 Financials presented were bank Statement, Aging reports for all counties, and bank reconciles. Total checks paid out \$23,330.40 -Alliant \$1028.70, Windstream \$311.10, City of Ft Madison \$80.00, Lee County Auditors \$13,825, Flomm \$600.00, Keith Menke \$1520.00, Mt Pleasant News \$72.30, Foss Kurken \$6000.00,Rathburn \$31.03,US Cellular \$194.19,Walter Smith 56.00, Secretary of State \$30.00, Great Plains Locating \$24.50, TDT \$5300.00, Bruce Hudson \$305.60,

# **EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR UPDATE**

RUSS just finished the FY14 audit. Bruce stated that he is working Bill HF365. Bruce is still working on trying to find ways to have the UMO funding returned.

### Discuss/Consider RUSS Rates for FY16 Sewer Systems

# Resolution #R09-16

Motioned by: Lee Dimmitt Seconded by: Bob Waugh to approve Argyle sewer rate change effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M63-15

### Resolution #R10-16

Motioned by: Chris Ball Seconded By: Greg Moeller to approve E.PPL sewer rate change effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M64-15

### Resolution #R11-16

Motioned by: Bob Waugh Seconded By: Greg Moeller to approve Harper sewer rate change effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M65-15

### Resolution #R12-16

Motioned by: Lee Dimmitt Seconded By: Chris Ball to approve Keswick sewer rate change effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all.#M66-15

### Resolution #R13-16

Motioned By: Chris Ball Seconded By: Greg Moeller to approve sewer Kinross sewer rate change effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all.#M67-16

### Resolution #R14-16

Motioned by: Bob Waugh Seconded by: Lee Dimmitt to approve sewer rate change for Martinsburg effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all.#M68-15

# Resolution #R15-16

Motioned by: Chris Ball Seconded by: Greg Moeller to approve sewer rate for Mt Sterling effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all.#M69-15

# Resolution #R16-16

Motioned By: Chris Ball Seconded By: Greg Moeller to approve sewer rate for Mt Union effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M70-15

### Resolution #R17-16

Motioned By: Chris Ball Seconded by: Lee Dimmitt to approve sewer rate for PPL effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote-Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all.#M71-15

# Resolution #R18-16

Motioned by: Bob Waugh Seconded By: Ron Fedler to approve sewer rate change for Webster effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M72-15

# Resolution #R19-16

Motioned By: Chris Ball Seconded by: Bob Waugh to approve sewer rate change for Linby effective July 1, 2015 Roll Call Vote- Lee Co. Aye, Jefferson Co. Aye, Louisa Co. Aye, Keokuk Co. Aye, Van Buren Co. Aye, Henry Co. Aye. Motion carried by all. #M73-15

### Discuss sewer connection policy:

Board discussed connection policy and agreed to have the policy committee look this over and bring back changes to the board to review.

# Discuss/Consider Mooar/Powdertown project:

Application has been completed with Iowa Finance Authority. Bruce is waiting on the draft sewer use ordinance from Lee County, so he can send it in with the application. There is nothing to consider at this time.

# Discuss 28E agreement:

Russ is waiting for Bond counsel to get back with them regarding information

### **PUBLIC COMMENTS -NONE**

### ADJOURNMENT

Motion made by Ron Fedler, Seconded by: Bob Waugh to adjourn the meeting.6 Ayes Motioned carried by all, #M74-15 Meeting adjourned at 2:37 p.m.

Next RUSS board meeting scheduled for April 8, 2015 1:00 p.m. @ Henry County Emergency Management Building, Mt Pleasant, IA.

Minutes approved: \_

Chairperson, Daryl Wood

Date